Annual Cancer Leadership Awards Reception

For over 19 years, Friends of Cancer Research has hosted the Annual Cancer Leadership Awards. During this event, we honor individuals who have been champions for cancer research and steadfast advocates for patients.



(L-R) Chair, Ellen Sigal, Leadership Award recipient, Margaret Foti, President, Marlene Malek





Previous Honorees include:

  • Margaret Foti, CEO, American Association for Cancer Research (AACR), Ellen V. Sigal Advocacy Leadership Award (2014)
  • Governor Bobby Jindal, Louisiana, Research Leadership Award (2014)
  • Governor Deval Patrick, MassachusettsResearch Leadership Award (2014)
  • Sherry Lansing, Founder, Sherry Lansing Foundation, Co-Founder, StandUp2Cancer (SU2C), Ellen V. Sigal Advocacy Leadership Award (2013)
  • Governor Martin O'Malley, Maryland, Research Leadership Award (2013)
  • Governor Bob McDonnell, Virginia, Research Leadership Award (2013)
  • Senator John McCain, (R-AZ) US Senate, Lifetime Cancer Leadership Award (2012)
  • Dr. Richard Pazdur, Director, Office of Hematology and Oncology, FDA, Cancer Research Leadership Award (2012)
  • Ms. Neera Tanden, President, Center for American Progress, Cancer Leadership Award (2012)
  • Secretary Kathleen Sebelius, 21st Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
  • Dr. Francis Collins, Director, National Institutes of Health (NIH)
  • Dr. Margaret Hamburg, Commissioner, US Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
  • Senator Orrin Hatch, (R-UT) US Senate
  • Dr. Siddhartha Mukherjee,  Physician and Pulitzer Prize winning author
  • Representative John Dingell, (D-MI) US House of Representatives
  • Senator Arlen Specter, (D-PA) US Senate
  • Senator Ted Kennedy, (D-MA) US Senate
  • Representative Steny Hoyer, (D-MD) US House of Representatives
  • Senator Judd Gregg, (R-NH) US Senate
  • Dr. Janet Woodcock, Director, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER), FDA
  • Secretary Michael Leavitt, 20th Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)



 Sherry Lansing was the inaugural recipient of the Ellen V. Sigal Advocacy Leadership Award





This event is attended each year by members of congress and their staff, individuals from federal agencies, leading scientific organizations, non-profit and business leaders, all honoring those who have devoted their time and energy to promote the advancement of cancer research and awareness around the country.

Information regarding this event and sponsorship opportunities is available by calling Berrett Stradford at (202) 944-6705 or via e-mail at